VOXI magnetics: TMI or RTP and database vs. grid

Options
I'm a bit new to aeromagnetic data and to VOXI inversions.
My first question is if reduction to pole should be done on the data input to VOXI? I tested 1) using the TMI without the reduction to pole and then specifying the IGRF for the survey date in the VOXI data import dialog, and then 2) using data that were already reduced to the pole beforehand and setting the IGRF to I=90 and D=0 in the VOXI data import dialog. I end up with quite a large difference in terms of the location of subsurface bodies. So, I'm thinking if the IGRF in the VOXI data import is then not used for RTP or similar and whether RTP should or shouldn't be done when doing VOXI inversions...? The learning paths mention that it is good to remove a regional beforehand and not in the data import, but I see no mention of RTP.
Secondly I'm wondering if there is a general idea if it's better to invert on the database ("optimized" subsampling of real data) or grid (interpolated/averaged data)? Are there any rules of thumbs for when one or the other is more likely to give a better/stable result?
Tagged:

Comments

• TaronishPithawala
    TaronishPithawala Posts: 230 mod
    edited March 2019
    Options
    Hi @PeterHedin,

Thanks for your question and your interest in VOXI.

RTP can be useful at times, such as when you're compiling different vintage surveys together with different IGRF values. Since VOXI can only deal with one IGRF setting at a time, RTP can be used to bring different surveys to one common IGRF prior to inversion.

RTP can also be seen as additional processing which may introduce additional artefacts into the data prior to inversion. Artefacts in usually equal artefacts out. Therefore, I don't personally recommend RTP as a common practice for inversion.