Negative Euler Deconvolution solutions

Hello everyone
I am a Geosoft beginner
Please I wish to know what is the meaning of negative depth solutions in Euler. Are they to dismiss from the solution list ???
Thanks in advance

Comments

• We ran a webinar recently on the Science Behind Euler Deconvolution which you might find useful. It focused on the application of Euler to calculate depths for unexploded ordnance but has a great section by Dr. Alan Reid on the theory of how Euler works.

http://www.geosoft.com/videos/science-behind-euler-deconvolution-how-it-affects-uxo-depth-and
    Lorraine Godwin
    Global Business Director
    Geosoft logo
  • DarrenAndrews
    DarrenAndrews Posts: 146 Fluorite Rank Badge
    edited June 2018
    Hello @QUENTINMARCANABAFOTZ,

Negative depth solutions in Euler Deconvolution can occur if you use the "Survey Elevation" parameter, which can entered by the user to account for the elevation of the sensor (magnetometer/gravity meter) when calculating the Euler solutions. To clarify, the Survey Elevation is defined as the elevation above the ground surface

For example, let's assume that a user sets the Survey Elevation parameter to zero and then calculates a single Euler solution, one which is calculated as being 1000m below the sensor elevation. In this case the results database the "Elevation" for this solution will be shown as 1000m

Let us now assume that a user enters a Survey Elevation value of 500m and then calculates a single Euler solution at the same depth and location as described in the previous paragraph. In this case, the results database will show an "Elevation" value of -500m for the solution, because the Survey Elevation is accounted for.

You should therefore not delete an Euler solution just because it is negative, if you have a survey elevation defined.